Reds – Volleyball WA Club of the Year

President of the Reds, Anthony Meo, accepted the award on behalf of the Club in front of a fantastic crowd at the Duxton Hotel on Saturday night.

Meo said “the award was incredibly humbling and a testament to the hard work that has been put into the Club over the past two years by our players, coaches, parents and supporters.”

There were a number of Reds players who won various Recognition and Achievement awards on the night. Zak Dempsey was named Junior Coach of the Year, Jackson Barnett was announced as the Division 1 Most Valuable Player and Junior Referee of the Year, whilst Lewis Peach won Junior Beach Volleyballer of the Year. Reds coach Michael Dempsey was the recipient of a Volleyball Western Australia Life Membership on the evening. Michael became the 25th Life Member of VWA and said that, “it was a truly humbling experience.”

“Having a small promo of your volleyball journey in front of so many distinguished volleyball members was an incredible experience. I appreciate all the effort and special words that were afforded to me and I cannot describe what this weekend has meant.”

A number of Reds volleyballers were also recognised on the night for their selections in the WA Steel team that will compete in the Australian Volleyball League (AVL). Jess Burton, Sarah Burton, Biancka Morton, Natalie Whittington, Jake Reid, Ryan Slater as well as Assistant Coach Laurel Wentworth will all represent the Steel in the AVL this year.

The Club wishes to thank the players, coaches, parents, supporters, sponsors and partners for contributing to a memorable 2019 WAVL season for the Reds. 

Perth Reds Volleyball Association